When my wife finally gives birth, this is what I will do.

Looking back at this past weekend with all the hype, anticipation and glamour that characterized the birth of her Royal Highness Princess Charlotte Elizabeth Diana, I’ve resolved that my own flesh and blood will be born with similar pomp. If not for the attention of the whole world, then it will be in celebration and honour of that lady who will brave the pain of child birth.
Bringing life into the world is no easy job and although some women make it seem like a routine visit to the dentist (the duchess of Cambridge included), I believe each birth is special and deserves to be welcomed in style. If the glitz does not come naturally, then rest assured I’ll create it. Here’s how!
Daily Facebook updates on the progress of my wife’s pregnancy, maybe a picture of the baby bump each week on my photography page, a monthly post right here on my blog and brief updates from the labour ward when the hour comes are some of the things I’m considering. I’ll make sure I keep the ‘press’ on its toes waiting for the child’s birth. When the baby is finally born, and it is time to go home, we will get out on the balcony of Mulago hospital or whichever hospital it will be and briefly wave to the ‘crowd’- whatever its size. If there’s no crowd, I’ll personally call a press conference to announce the birth of my beloved little one. I’ll make people (read family and friends) bet on the name to christen the child. In addition, I will announce how the name holds a special place in the family, dating way back to the baby’s great great grandfather who was a man of valour and courage. Not all of us can be princes indeed, but who says we cannot live like princes in our own little worlds.
Ohh, now I realize my imagination is running away from my judgement. All the same these little dreams swam in my mind all weekend and I can bet I was not the only one. The truth will probably be we’ll quietly leave the hospital cradling the little one and head home only to the excitement of only family and friends. And who says that is not enough!!!

Author: Colman

Another of Abraham's countless descendants that wants the world at his feet and feels the best is yet to come. Currently studying law but with interests that range from photography, writing, agriculture and many more

2 thoughts on “When my wife finally gives birth, this is what I will do.”

  1. haha l’ll indeed be in that crowd…welcoming your little prince/princess. lt’s a great imagination btw…when l looked at how that princess came in…brought an admiration….l mean a whole world anxiety!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

